SVG, Vectors, and Autodigitization

I am not a scientist, but an artist and a game designer.

TLDR:

1. GPlates should be able to read vector data and use that instead of users having to rebuild in GPlates with the slower and less accurate Drawing Tools.

2. Autodigitize from vector or raster image

Longer version below

I came across GPlates form other designers who are using it in conjunction with QGIS to create fantasy worlds with real coordinated and what have you.

Though GPlates imports SVG’s, it doesn’t import the vector data. Is this perhaps something that the team has considered? Making it easier for someone like myself who sets stuff up in Adobe Illustrator. Then I can import the vector SVG, do what I need to in GPlates and then export it for further GIS work.

The vector data can be quite detailed for coastlines or tectonic plates. Having to retrace something I did in Illustrator or other vector daring program is a hassle in GPlates.

Being able to take that data on this path:

Vector Drawing Program > GPlates > GIS Software (QGIS, etc.) > World Machine > Video Game Engine (Unreal/Unity) or to Print for Table Top Games

Would make creating full fleshed out worlds amazing and easy.

Links to how some people are using it:

1 Like

Is it possible to convert your vector data into shapefile or geojson formats? GPlates can load from esri shapefile, geojson and some other less popular formats.

Not that I’m aware of. There’s no way to creat non existent geo data from an SVG to a Shape File. I can take a Shaoe file and turn it into an SVG though.

But it would be more beneficial to have the ability to read vectors and place them on the globe in software.

This seems useful…

https://mygeodata.cloud/converter/svg-to-shp

1 Like

Oh, I guess your svg does not have geo-referencing tags.

Hi Jeff,