Pygplates functions

Hi!

I am new to pygplates. I am running it on Apple M1. I have been able to do a fair number of things using the pygplates documentation (functions such as pygplates.reconstruct(), pygplates.resolve_topologies() seem to work fine), but some things do not seem to work entirely.

1. When I try to make a feature collection using:
collection = pygmt.FeatureCollection("features.shp")

Everything seems to work fine. However, if I want to create a feature collection of multiple files, I get the following errors:

collection_add.("features2.gpml")
TypeError: Expected Feature or sequence of Feature's

collection = pygmt.FeatureCollection(["features.shp", "features2.gpml"])
TypeError: Expected an optional filename, or sequence of features, or a single feature

As far as I understand, “features2.gpml” is a feature and [“features.shp”, “features2.gpml”] is a sequence of features, so I’m not sure what’s going on here.

1. When I try the script to find the length of the subduction zones surrounding a plate, I get the following error:
----> 3 topological_model = pygplates.TopologicalModel(rotation_model, rotation_model)
      4 topological_snapshot = plate_model.topological_snapshot(reconstruction_time)
      5 resolved_topologies = topological_snapshot.get_resolved_topologies()

AttributeError: module 'pygplates' has no attribute 'TopologicalModel'

Why doesn’t it recognise the function “TopologicalModel”?

Many thanks!

Thomas

Hi Thomas,

Actually by feature it means a pygplates.Feature. So feature2.gpml is a filename (which is a string), and hence not strictly a feature, or even a sequence of features. And [“features.shp”, “features2.gpml”] is a sequence of filenames (ie, a sequence of strings).

The reason the following worked…

collection = pygmt.FeatureCollection("features.shp")

…is because features.shp is a filename which satisfies an optional filename, or sequence of features, or a single feature.

Whereas…