Calculating distance

Hi there! I’m a physics teacher hopping over to help with a tectonics unit we are writing with a non-profit. I have no background in Python but this interface looks amazing.

I’m trying to find roughly how far Africa and South America have moved from their projected positions and locations in Gondwanaland. I hate how some student handouts have just the actual distance between the two continents, and not distances that reflect their change in latitude and longitude and physical movement since they were one mass. Those student rate calculations bother me, because I know it is just based on a straight line between two parts that they think were joined at one point.

I feel like such a cotton-headed-ninny-muggins, to quote the movie Elf, but would someone be willing to help me find these rough distances that the two land masses have actually moved? The top and bottom of the continent movement is totally fine- we have a large class discussion about how the rates and movement is variable based on different factors. The best estimate I’ve found is 6660km from the center of one continent to the other (on average, I know that different segments have moved different ranges).

Hi wnismith,

depending on how much time you want to invest there’s a few options:

• Easy, using the GUI:
    • Download a Shapefile of world cities - e.g. the “populated places” from Natural Earth » 1:10m Cultural Vectors - Free vector and raster map data at 1:10m, 1:50m, and 1:110m scales
    • Fire up GPlates, loading the DataBundleForNovices.gproj Project file located in SampleData/DataBundleForNovices
    • Drag the *.shp file of the cities/populated places (replace with your choice of cultural data you want to use) into GPlates, if your input data has an attribute called name or something similar, you can tell GPlates to map that attribute to the Name GPlates associates with features by default in the import dialogue. Click ok. This should look something like this: